

SCA Director Peter Harvie inducted into Radio Hall of Fame

Director of Southern Cross Austereo and highly respected radio and media industry executive, Peter Harvie was inducted into the Commercial Radio Hall of Fame at the 26th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards.

Harvie was honoured for his outstanding lifetime achievement and contribution to the radio broadcasting industry at a gala ceremony, attended by 1200 of his industry peers at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

With more than 45 years experience in the advertising, marketing and media industries, Harvie is greatly respected by some of Australia's most successful on air and off air talent. He started his career in advertising, joining Clemenger Melbourne as a radio writer in 1966, where he became Creative Director and just three years later was appointed to the Board. The company restructured in 1973 to become Clemenger Harvie and Peter was appointed Managing Director. Clemenger Harvie went on to be one of Melbourne's most successful and well known advertising organisations.

One of Clemenger Harvie's long standing clients was the Triple M radio network. In 1993, Harvie became the Managing Director of Triple M Radio Network. He was appointed to the Board and soon advanced to the position of Group Managing Director.

He was then appointed Executive Chairman of Austereo Group Limited from 2001 until May 2011, Executive Chairman of Austereo Pty Ltd and steered the business through the merger with Southern Cross Media to become Australia's biggest and most diverse radio companies, Southern Cross Austereo.

Commercial Radio Australia chief executive officer, Joan Warner said: "Peter Harvie is an outstanding leader and creative force in the radio broadcasting industry and continues today to be a supporter of commercial radio as an advertising medium and entertainment platform."

The Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry peers and are selected by an executive level judging committee. Previous inductees include last year's Kevin Blyton, Graham Mott, Tony Pilkington, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Bob Rogers, Gary O'Callaghan, Paul Thompson, Bob Francis, Rod Muir and the late Frank Hyde.

The Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) are organised by Commercial Radio Australia and cover all metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations, with winners announced for each of these areas in 34 categories, across news, talkback, sport and music. Tonight's gala event was hosted by comedian and actor Shane Jacobson with more than 1200 radio industry stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia in attendance.

Red carpet & winners photos available here

Broadcast vision of the ACRAs Red Carpet arrivals can be viewed and downloaded <u>here</u> and at approximately 10.30 pm AEDST will be sent via satellite ex Globecast, Sydney and 5:30 am AEDST Sunday October 19. The winners list is also available on the CRA website: <u>www.commercialradio.com.au</u> For all the latest news, get social with CRA on: Twitter: @ComRadioAU #CRAConf #ACRAs2014 Facebook: facebook.com/commercialradioaustralia Instagram: instagram.com/comradioau